Anyone can cook?

muppetchefA few days ago, I attempted to make a turkey melt.. turkey, onions, Dijon mustard and cheddar cheese. Since a turkey melt is essentially grilled cheese.. with turkey, and grilled cheese is one of the easiest recipes on earth, I decided to attempt it. I assembled all of the ingredients, buttered one side of the bread and put it into a pan. This is where the problems started. The bread was sticking to both the pan and my spatula. Since I was visiting my parents in NJ, my mom walked in and inquired about what I was doing.
“Making grilled cheese! But it’s not going so well..”
“Well, did you use a non-stick pan?”
“A what?”
I don’t cook. I hate saying that. I try, but time and time again, fail. This is a disgrace because not only do I have an Italian mother (whose pasta sauce is the best I’ve ever had), but I host a FOOD and wine show. Granted, I’m not the one cooking on this show, but having at least enough skill to prepare an omelet definitely wouldn’t hurt.I think the problem isn’t just a lack of ability. I live in a city with the best restaurants in the world and at any hour, day or night, you can have anything you want delivered right to your door in less than 30 minutes. In the mood for Thai? No problem. How about Italian? Done. What about that dish you once had in a little town in the south of France that you swore you’d never taste again? Chances are, you’ll find it somewhere on Yelp.With the new year approaching, and, admittedly, after watching Julie & Julia, I’ve decided to make my New Year’s resolution. I am going to learn how to cook… something.

How will I do this? Date a chef? (Spike, I’m still waiting for your call back..) Enroll in culinary school? No. I will do my best to use the resources I already have being 1. my mother and 2. the many novice (and less than 3 hour) cooking classes available here in NYC. Once I have prepared something edible, I’ll do my best with trying recipes from a cookbook, but, for now, my biggest task is making an appetizer for an annual holiday party with friends from high school.

Let’s see how I do.

(On a side note, I’m quite good at baking.. at least baking out of box, so maybe I should start where my strengths and heart lies.. dessert).
One thought on “Anyone can cook?

Leave a Reply

