Pomme Eats

Despite the influx of Christmas decorations and commercials, I’m still enjoying my favorite time of year, fall.  Part of the enjoyment comes from using the ingredients I’ve collected through apple and pumpkin picking and scouring local farmer’s markets.

So, today I started my day not with holiday coffee, but apple cider, the last little bit left in the bottle.

I also opted to make a dessert using the apples leftover from my Masker’s outing in October.  Instead of a tired apple pie recipe, my boyfriend found a recipe for apple pie bites on a stick (here), and with a little modification, I was very happy with the results.

I used most of the ingredients listed except I subbed flour for cornstarch and added about a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract.  I also I didn’t have ground cloves, so I added them to the apple mixture and removed them before baking.

The remaining step of recipe called for an icing topping but I chose to omit it because I thought the pies were sweet enough, though I would recommend some vanilla ice cream for a classic à la mode.

Apple Bite III

2 thoughts on “Pomme Eats

  1. Pingback: Fall Favorites Pt. 1 « Where Brooklyn At?

  2. Pingback: Best of 2010 | Where Brooklyn At?

Leave a Reply

