Plane Attire

If you’re traveling by plane this holiday season, you’re probably wondering what you should wear on your flight. Sweatpants are comfortable of course, but you may want to look a bit more but together (this also increases your chances of a free upgrade!). In the same breath, dressing like you’re going to work is not only uncomfortable but not very practical either (the wrinkles you’ll inevitably get will be just as sloppy).

So, what to wear? I learned my lesson last year when I traveled to South Korea for the Sell Your Seoul campaign. My previous experience flying was either as a child with my family or as a young adult going to spring break, Las Vegas or the like.  This was my first flight over 6 hours (it was about 15) and I was, admittedly, a little nervous. I was also aware that I would be filmed during my trip, but I didn’t know that it would be as soon as I arrived. So, my introduction to Seoul was in all my sweatpant-ed glory. Don’t let this happen to you.

You may not be filmed like I was, but if you’re meeting up with family members you haven’t seen in a while, or especially your significant other, you don’t want to look like you just rolled out of bed (although you pretty much do – sleeping on the plane is my major activity).

My solution for my upcoming Thanksgiving trip to China – where we’ll be meeting up with my boyfriend’s brother and girlfriend – is to wear something that’s comfortable and chic, but not look like I’m trying too hard. If you have leggings in your wardrobe, you probably already know that not only are they crazy comfortable, but they can also be dressed up or down.

So, for this trip I’m sticking to basic black leggings, a long sleeve tunic (which though it may not look like a sleep shirt, it’s as comfortable as one), socks, my “biggest” shoes (I prefer to wear them on the plane and take them off so I have more room in my suitcase), my glasses (instead of my usual contacts) and a scarf that can be used an ad-hoc blanket (planes are notoriously chilly).

Comfortable enough to sleep in, but stylish enough to impress even a discerning family member.

Happy Travels!

2 thoughts on “Plane Attire

  1. Pingback: Best of 2011 | Where Brooklyn At?

  2. Pingback: Keep Calm, Carry-on | Where Brooklyn At?

Leave a Reply

