Winter Favorites

Spring is right around the corner, so I thought it would be a good time to update you on my current favorites.

Kinfolk Magazine, Volume 2 – I just discovered this magazine a few months ago and I’m already hooked! The pictures are spectacular and the stories and uplifting and inspiring. My boyfriend and I curled up by the fireside during our trip to Canada and took turns reading it aloud. It inspired us to buy a dusty miller plant, and although we didn’t see that much snow this winter, it helped us to enjoy the dark, chilly evenings at home a little bit more. We were lucky enough to attend their cocktail party in Brooklyn a few weeks ago, and meet a few of the contributors. Their new issue comes out at the end of this month and I highly recommend you subscribe!

Deborah Lippmann Across the Universe polish – A gorgeous mix of green, blue and silver giltter. This is the first time I’ve used a gel polish and found it to be a lot easier to work with than traditional polishes. This color reminds me of the night sky in Canada. Just beautiful!

The Alrdich Museum – a delightful little modern art museum less than 15 minutes away from our house. I stumbled upon this museum from a Groupon offer and Walter & I checked it out during Christmas break. I applaud them for showcasing experimental art, their first Fridays events, workshops, and yoga sessions on Saturdays! We also returned last weekend for a truffle tasting and reading by  Eugenia Bone from her new book.

My trapper hat – Possibly the best winter accessory I own. This hat kept me seriously warm for hours while sledding in Canada, despite the -11 degree weather.

Bored to Death – I fell in love with this show after watching a few episodes in China and picking up the first 3 seasons on DVD. It’s smartly written, funny, and set in Brooklyn (not that matters..). I haven’t had cable in 3 years, so I little behind when it comes to discovering new shows.

It’s funny to note that I spotted someone who I thought was Zach Galifinakis, (who hails from Greenpoint), sleeping in McCarren Park, shirt up over his belly and candy wrappers strewn around. After texting my boyfriend about the mystery man, he replied of course it was Zach. I now realize he was most likely filming Bored to Death at the time. Funny how it took a trip to China for me to discover something in my own backyard.

Fisherman’s Friend lozenges – This was a recent find while shopping at Roller Aid with my friend Stella (thanks again!). Dating back to 1865, these lozenges help with nasal congestion, coughs and allergies. They are all natural, GMO, gluten, cholesterol and dairy-free and do not contain artificial ingredients or preservatives – and – don’t you love the packaging?

2 thoughts on “Winter Favorites

  1. Pingback: Memories & Favorites Tag | Where Brooklyn At?

Leave a Reply

