Hair Rescue

Last April, after years of abusing my hair – from dying it light blonde to using a straight iron more than I’d like to admit – I decided to start fresh (and was given a nudge by the Bumble and bumble. Model Project) with a short razor bob haircut.

After my cut, I decided to put down the hot tools and stopped dyeing it completely. Nearly a year later, my hair is now in that awkward, growing out – just above the shoulders length – but a lot healthier. I was happy to try something completely different, but I can’t wait for my long locks to make a comeback.

If your hair is need of a major repair, you don’t need to make a drastic change like I did (unless you want to!). To keep your hair looking healthy, shiny and frizz-free, here are a few essential tips to follow:

Only shampoo every other day – at the most. Shampooing strips the hair of its natural oils, so using a gentle shampoo and cutting down on washes is the first step to having healthy hair. My go to product is Kiehl’s Amino Acid Shampoo – its main ingredient is coconut oil, so even before I use conditioner, my hair feels soft and tangle-free – and it smells great!

Cut down on hot styling tools. Your hair is more fragile than you think. There’s nothing wrong with using tools to achieve a look for a special occasion, but try to let your hair air dry as much as possible (ideally, every time you wash) and embrace the natural look of your hair. If you are using hot tools, make sure you use a protectant first, like this one from Kerastase.

Condition with coconut oil.  Even more versatile than extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil can be used for cooking, on wood surfaces, and also to restore moisture in your skin and hair (and it’s the main ingredient in my favorite shampoo). Once a week, melt a few tablespoons of coconut oil in the microwave or stove top, smooth on to your hair and leave on for a least 30 minutes (for extra deep conditioning, put a shower cap on and leave it overnight).

Get frequent hair cuts. Split ends can damage even strong hair by slowly breaking the hair shaft over time. Avoid this by getting trims every 6-8 weeks.

Never brush your hair when it’s wet. Your hair is extremely flexible when it’s wet, so using a brush after your shower will lead to breakage. A better way to detangle your hair is by using a wide tooth comb.

Use a leave-in conditioner. My absolute favorite conditioner is Kiehl’s Formula 133. After shampooing, I use it as a traditional rise-out conditioner, then, after towel drying my hair, I put a pea-sized amount back in my hair use it as a leave-in. This conditioner is amazing because it detangles and moisturizes my hair, but it’s not greasy, so I frequently use it on dry hair to battle frizz throughout the day.

2 thoughts on “Hair Rescue

  1. Pingback: Beach Bag Essentials « Where Brooklyn At?

  2. Pingback: Water Workouts | Where Brooklyn At?

Leave a Reply

