Spring Favorites

As the official start of summer approaches, I thought it would be a good time to update you on my favorite things of spring.

Theo Chocolate – During my trip to Seattle, I had the opportunity to tour the Theo Chocolate factory. Willy Wonka jokes aside, I was impressed with the depth of the tour. Most “tours” involve a short video of how it’s made followed by a free sample and a friendly goodbye. While I’m certainly not opposed to free samples (which thankfully, Theo is generous with), Theo takes you onto the factory floor and in the kitchen to see how they really make their chocolate. Not only is it really delicious – my favorites are Coconut Curry and Mint – but Earth-friendly too. Theo is the first organic, Fair Trade, bean-to-bar chocolate factory in the U.S.

Fortunately, you don’t have to go to Seattle to taste their creative chocolate flavors – they’re available at most Whole Foods and online – but you if you’re in the Pacific Northwest, I highly recommend you schedule a factory tour.

Jergens Natural Glow Express Body Moisturizer (Fair to Medium) – We had a record warm spring this year and that means digging out summer wardrobe earlier than usual. It’s not that I don’t like my fair skin, but after months of hibernation, my legs could use a little help to get shorts-ready. I don’t normally use self tanners – because of my aforementioned complexion – I am afraid of looking like the Lorax.

To avoid this, I decided to try out gradual tanner/moisturizer combo, but being that I have the patience of a 4-year-old, chose the express version. I saw a color change with the first application (and was also able to see where I missed) but in 3 days, I saw the full result – a light, golden tint – no orange streaks in sight.

MicrodermaMitt® Body Mitt – It’s no secret that the best way to make a tan last (even if it’s faux) is to exfoliate before. I’ve used a bunch of different products like this in the past, but I was intrigued by this exfoliating bath mitt. It’s all-natural and made from floss silk, which is basically embroidery silk, and made for sensitive skin.

The texture was rougher than I thought it would be, but I could definitely see it working on my tired, winter skin in the shower. With a light enough touch, it didn’t irritate my skin and my legs were left smooth and soft.

Aveda Light The Way Candle – I bought this candle in Seattle while I picking up my annual birthday gift. It’s scented with pure lavender and clary sage essential oils and is packaged with recycled materials. It added a bit of warmth and a lovely scent to our hotel room and, in honor of Earth Month, Aveda donated 100% of the proceeds to Global Greengrants clean water projects.

A2 by Aerosoles Wedges –  Comfortable, practical footwear, but not chic. That was my impression of Aerosoles shoes. So, I was more than surprised when I spotted these super cute wedges at Kohl’s, and see that they were made by Aerosoles. Comfortable enough to withstand a full day of walking in Montreal, and cute enough to wear out to dinner later that evening.

The Hunger Games – OK, so I got sucked into the hype. I read the book, saw the movie. Both were really entertaining and, truthfully, I can’t wait to read the second book. If you’ve avoided the madness, you’re missing out!

5 thoughts on “Spring Favorites

  1. I agree completely on the Hunger Games. I resisted, but finished the book yesterday. Can’t wait to see the movie and for the next book.

    • The movie is very true to the book – you’re gonna love it! I told myself to hold off reading the second book for a while, but I’m have trouble resisting!

  2. Pingback: Summer Camp: S’mores « Where Brooklyn At?

  3. Pingback: Memories & Favorites Tag | Where Brooklyn At?

  4. Pingback: DIY Island Staycation | Where Brooklyn At?

Leave a Reply

