Driving Caddies: A Visit to Trump National Golf Club with Cadillac

A few weeks ago, I was invited to a Cadillac-sponsored golfing event at the Trump National Golf Club in Colts Neck, NJ. I’ve always had a desire to learn golfing basics (I signed up for golf in college, only to drop it due to the April weather wreaking havoc on my sinuses) and thought this would be a perfect opportunity.

Decked out in my version of golf attire (white polo, khaki shorts, baseball hat and my brand new golf glove) I started the morning off with breakfast at the clubhouse. Being a Trump establishment, I was not surprised to see this upon entering the course.

And, I was even less surprised by this:

After breakfast, I attended a walking and swing demonstration from PGA golfer and “Father of the modern golf swing”, David Leadbetter. Following the presentation, the clinic attendees were divided into several groups and began the interactive part of the day.

In hindsight, I probably should’ve known that a golf clinic would mostly attract experienced golfers, not a neophyte like myself. I was probably a hilarious sight for the more mature players, but I had fun trying out the different strokes and techniques suggested by the professionals.

After the final clinic, I got a chance to drive the CTS-V Coupe. In a word, it’s beautiful. I loved the unique door handles and lux interior. My favorite feature was definitely the paint called Black Diamond, and it definitely lives up to its name. The paint is so luminescent, it sparkled and shined in the sunlight (closeup below).

Although I may not be ready for the PGA tour just yet, I learned a lot and had a nice day outdoors. Fore!

Leave a Reply

