The Color Run(away) Bride

For most people, Labor Day is summer’s last hurrah and a chance to enjoy barbeques and the beach before buckling down to work or school. While I normally like to enjoy a day of sunning on Calf Pasture beach, this year, I spent it celebrating a good friend’s wedding and participating in my first 5k run.

I should preface this by saying I am not a runner. I do almost envy those people who find it thrilling to wake up in early in the morning to run, while I’m still sound asleep, but, to put it bluntly, the last time I ran was from something. Despite my poor jogging skills, after reading about The Color Run, I couldn’t resist signing up and trying it out.

Blue Color Zone

If you’re never heard of The Color Run, it’s a 5k walk/run held in cities all over the U.S. What makes it special, aside from benefiting the Multiple Sclerosis Association, is at every 1k mark, volunteers hurl colorful powder (1 color for each kilometer) at the white t-shirt clad runners, resulting in a beautiful (and sweaty) rainbow at the finish line.

My boyfriend and his mother joined me at the race in Englishtown, NJ. We were all there for the experience, so while we did do some jogging, we walked a portion of the track as well. It was a fun way to get in some exercise and encouraging for non-runners like myself.

At the finish line!

After the run, there is an optional dance party (with more colors of course), but since Walter and I had to travel back up north, we (sadly) had to skip it. We did, however, get a chance to scare several Dunkin Donuts employees by arriving in all our colored glory and again, at a nail salon when I stopped for an emergency eyebrow wax (yes, this exists) before Leah and Ryan’s nuptials.

I was happy to learn that the colors came off fairly easily (though I did take 2 showers just to be safe), so I avoided looking like a Skittle at the rehearsal dinner and, more importantly, in the wedding photos (I was a bridesmaid).

The Bride and Groom

The wedding was amazing and as with most events, it was wonderful to see old friends and catch up. Leah was a beautiful bride and I was very happy to be a part of the McWasserstrum’s special day.

Me – color free!

To learn more and find a Color Run in your city, click here.

One thought on “The Color Run(away) Bride

  1. Pingback: Improv Everywhere: Black Tie Beach | Where Brooklyn At?

Leave a Reply

