Memories & Favorites Tag

IMG_6059

BEAUTY:
Face product: W3LL People Narcissist Stick Foundation #3. A glowing foundation that is completely natural and organic, free of parabens, talc, dyes and fragrances of any kind, and cruelty-free.
Cheek product: Manna Kadar Sheer Glow Lotion in Paradise. I don’t normally use bronzer, but after getting a sample of this lotion in one of my Birchboxes, I’ve used this product to highlight my cheekbones or, by mixing it with my foundation, I achieve an all over glimmer.
Eye product: Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eyeliner in Peacock. For a sublime pop of color underneath my eyes, this is my go-to product. It stays on for most of the day and blends well.
Lip Product: W3LL People Nudist Lipshine Stick #7. This lipstick is very hydrating, natural and organic, and the beautiful rose color is very flattering with my skintone and enhances my blue eyes.
Skincare Product: WEI Golden Root Purifying Mud Mask. I mentioned the benefits of this mask back in the spring, and I’ve continued to use it about once a week to keep my skin clean, clear, and free of impurities.
Nail Polish: Deborah Lippmann Across the Universe. The blue, green and silver specs remind me of the night sky and the gel formula makes it really easy to apply.
Hair product: Organix Extra Strength Moroccan Argan Oil. Due to the structure of the hair, curly tresses are naturally drier than other hair types. It’s no secret that heat styling is a major cause of damage, breakage, and dryness. I use this oil daily before using any hot tools on my hair and anytime I see a bit of frizz or lackluster shine. It protects my hair and keeps it looking shiny and healthy.
Body product or Perfume: MicrodermaMitt Body Mitt. This all-natural exfoliating mitt is made from floss silk, and leaves my legs silky smooth. I use it about once a week in the shower and definitely see results.

471864_10102936619667534_82330871_o

FASHION
Clothing Piece: My Dirndl. From choreographing a parody of Call Me Maybe to dancing at P.S. 1 and updating my wardrobe for Fashion Week, my stint as an Austrian Dirndl Ambassador this summer was incredible. I have so many terrific memories – drinking delicious Austrian beer and Reisling, visiting parks and museums on warm summer nights, making a fantastic new group of friends and our epic wrap up celebration at Edie and the Wolf – being an ambassador definitely made the summer of 2012 one to remember. A big thank you to Austria Travel for giving me this amazing opportunity!
Accessory: Hologram Clutch. After spotting a beautiful Stella McCartney hologram bag, I decided to make my own for only $10 (the original is $590). I plan on rocking this clutch well through spring 2013 with crisp whites and neutrals.
Shoes: Gina, Shoemint. One of my favorite Christmas presents. I love the gorgeous dusty rose color, sexy straps and, obviously, I’m very fond of the name. 🙂

IMG_0250

RANDOM
Favorite TV Show or Movie: Bored to Death. Jason Schwartzman is brilliant as Jonathan Ames, the neurotic writer turned detective in this (now cancelled) HBO series. Zach Galifianakis and Ted Danson also star as Jonathan’s friend and mentor (respectively) and hilarity ensues during their adventures through Brooklyn.
Favorite Book: The Hunger Games. This story is so captivating and Katniss is such a strong character, I literally couldn’t put it down and read the entire book in less than 24 hours. I can’t remember the last time I was so enamored with a story that I felt like I was transported to the horriffying dystopian land of Panem right along with the Tributes. I thoroughly enjoyed the film as well. Jennifer Lawrence was a perfect choice to play Katniss and I can’t wait for Mokingjay!
Favorite Song: Foster the People – Call It What You Want. For quite a few months in 2012, this was my wake up dance party song and made the Get Ready playlist I made for Birchbox.
Favorite Concert: Global Citizens Festival. I’ve been wanting to see the Black Keys in concert since I first heard Tighten Up in 2010. In September, I finally got a chance to see them live in Central Park at a free show helping to end extreme poverty. The 60,000 concert attendees had to do various “challenges” to earn a spot in the ticket lottery prior to attending. These challenges promoted awareness of the Global Poverty Project and solicited donations. During the concert, Global Poverty Project showed videos explaining their mission and what they’ve accomplished thus far. It was really cool to be a part of something so big and beneficial, and, though I never doubted it, The Black Keys sounded amazing live.
Food: Soup Dumplings. Although I lived in Chinatown in Manhattan, I had never tasted a soup dumpling until I traveled to Shanghai last November. If you are not familiar, they are traditional steamed dumplings filled with a rich broth. There is a special method to eating them to avoid painful soup burns, but once you learn the trick, they are (safely) delectable.
Beverage: Gerolsteiner Sparkling Mineral Water. Refreshing, healthy (due to the natural mineral content) and effervescent, Gerolsteiner was my go-to drink for the summertime and beyond.

IMG_2240

BONUS QUESTION
Best Decision: Deciding to volunteer at the Maritime Aquarium. My time spent here has been extremely rewarding and I learn more and more about marine science everyday by bonding with the animals and informing visitors about them. I recently got to spend the night there during a scout night sleepover and it was amazing to lead my first educational tour and see how the animals behave after dark. Because of my new found passion, I’ve decided to write a children’s book about marine life and hope to start working on it in the spring.

One thought on “Memories & Favorites Tag

  1. Pingback: Shark Week: Shark Bite Cupcakes | Where Brooklyn At?

Leave a Reply

