Top Twenty Songs of the 90’s

medieval timesBlame it on #ThrowbackThursday, but I’m feeling nostalgic. I decided to roundup some of my favorite songs (that I can remember) from my childhood – the 1990’s.

I chose about 30 of my most beloved songs, but based my final judgement on one criterion – what songs, no matter the circumstances, would I always listen (and sing) to, never changing the channel for another song?

Answer: a mix of west coast grunge, hip hop, pre-emo emo tunes, and pop.

Fun Facts: Green Day’s album Dookie was the first CD I ever purchased, and the Backstreet Boys made the list twice because – true story – after driving to State College for their concert, I decided to apply to Penn State, and maybe I still know many of their original dance moves…

Did your favorite song from the 90’s make the list? Leave a comment and let me know what I missed!

Top Twenty Songs of the 90’s

  1. Red Hot Chili Peppers – Under the Bridge
  2. Blues Traveler – The Hook
  3. Alanis Morissette – You Oughta Know
  4. Backstreet Boys – I Want it That Way
  5. Sublime – What I Got
  6. The Notorious B.I.G. – Mo Money Mo Problems
  7. Snoop Doggy Dogg – Gin & Juice
  8. No Doubt – Just a Girl
  9. Dave Matthews Band – The Stone
  10. Barenaked Ladies – Conventioneers
  11. Backstreet Boys – Larger than Life
  12. Collective Soul – December
  13. Wallflowers – One Headlight
  14. Green Day – Basketcase
  15. Blind Melon – No Rain
  16. Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit
  17. Fiona Apple – Criminal
  18. No Diggity – Blackstreet ft. Dr. Dre
  19. Oasis – Wonderwall
  20. (#1 in my book) Third Eye Blind – Semi-Charmed Life
One thought on “Top Twenty Songs of the 90’s

Leave a Reply

