Tried & the Truth: Queens Archery

katniss everdeen bow and arrow

katniss everdeen archery lessonqueens archery

Tried:

Katniss Everdeen, with her eternal courage, strength, and kick ass archery skills, is the current leader of female role models for girls and young women.

I too fell prey to the hype surrounding The Hunger Games protagonist, and decided to channel my favorite heroine by signing up for an archery lesson at Queens Archery. I purchased a Groupon that included a lesson, rental equipment, and a $10 credit for future use.

Dressed in my best Katniss-esque attire, I drove down to Flushing, NY last night for my introductory lesson. Due to an overwhelming amount of traffic on 95 (summer Sundays…), I arrived late, but the instructor, Mike, quickly filled me in on the proper safety precautions (removing my jacket was step one since, he explained, it would get in the way).

I was outfitted with a standard compound bow, but, despite being right handed, my left eye is more dominant, so I switched to a lefty bow.

After learning the basics, I stepped up to the line (the 10 yard instead of the 5 because of my tardiness), for my first shot. It was intimidating at first – the weight of the bow in my hand, the sharp arrow, and the pressure of the string on my cheek – all made me  a little nervous, but after my initial timidness, I really found it exhilarating.

As you can probably tell from the pictures, I don’t plan on going pro anytime soon, but I’ve found a new hobby that can come in handy, especially if we ever face a zombie apocalypse.

Truth:

If you live in the NYC area, I recommend trying out a lesson for yourself. It’s fairly inexpensive, challenging, and a very unique date idea. Since Queens Archery is located indoors, it’s possible to make archery a year round activity, a promotes a healthy level of competition with your friends or significant other.

To learn more about Queens Archery and their facilities, click here, and visit them on Facebook

Leave a Reply

