July Favorites

IMG_2265

 

Tiger Lily – I added this book to my summer reading list (seen here) after Sarah Vickers blogger for Classy Girls Wear Pearls and girlfriend of Kiel James Patrick, posted the first page on Instagram with the quote: “For the girls with messy hair and thirsty hearts.”

While the novel is intended for YA audience, the world of Neverland crafted by Anderson is so captivating, that days after reading the final page, I still find myself returning to the sometimes spooky fantasy land. 

Tinkerbell serves as the (silent) narrator, taking us behind closed doors (and into wall cracks) to view the happenings of the protagonist, Tiger Lily and her affections for the leader of the lost boys, Peter Pan.

The pirates, Captain Hook, and many familiar characters from the film Peter Pan make an appearance, but we are also introduced to the people surrounding Tiger Lily and other areas of Neverland.

Although it’s a quick read, it’s full of adventure, heart ache, and thought provoking events. If you plan on reading this at the beach, just know that the mermaids in Neverland have developed a taste for humans, and you may think twice about diving in the ocean.

Stop Motion Animation – The KJP crew’s Instagram and Vine feeds are full of stop motion style videos, and I was inspired to make one myself, after being surrounded by all of the lovely and colorful All Across Africabaskets last week (more on this later).

It takes a lot of patience and planning to record a video like this, but I had so much fun making the first one, that I made two more the following day and I’m continuing to challenge myself by trying to make each video a little more advanced than the last.

I am by no means an authority on the procedure, but there are plenty of great tutorials on how to get started. I used the Stop Motion app for my first one, just to get an idea of how the process works, but now I mostly just use the Instagram video option.

Coeur de Pirate – I just discovered this Montreal-born singer with the heart of a pirate (her real name, Beatrice Martin) a few days ago, but she absolutely my favorite new artist of the summer.

I love her sweet but haunting voice and her songs have a heavy piano presence that add a touch sadness to their beauty. Most of her recordings are in French (my favorite, Place de la Republique), but she plans to also release her first English album this coming year (though I prefer French).

Totally fan crushing right now, but I just love her! I’m very sad that I didn’t discover her during my many trips to Montreal in the last 2 years, but better late than never!

IMG_2266Alice in Wonderland Tea Press – This quirky and cute tea press was a present from my aunt during our trip to Disneyland last month. I love the size (it’s perfect for one cup), subtle nod to the characters, and the instructions are pretty amusing:

How to make hot tea: Start at the beginning and when you come to the end… stop. Add one teaspoon of tea into your pot for each cup. Cup-for-cup pour boiling water over the tea and steep for 1 to 2 minutes we recommend your clock be two days slow. Move down the table if you’d like a clean cup.

I believe the press is only available for purchase at Disneyland (and maybe Disney World), but I found a few online for sale.

Orange is the New Black – I think we can all agree that Netflix is killing it with their original shows. First, we were wowed by the political drama House of Cards , then the resurrection of the cult TV comedy, Arrested Development, and now the somehow frightening and hysterical prison series, Orange is the New Black. 

Piper Chapman (based on real life ex con Piper Kerman) , a priviledged Connecticut-raised New Yorker, is sentenced to 15 months in a federal prison for being a drug mule 10 years prior. The series follows her trials of following the rules, trying to fit in, and sometimes, fighting for her life.

It’s raw (both in content and nudity), different, and an accurate portrayal of prison life from the innmate’s point of view (according to Kerman).

Walter and I devoured all 13 true hour long (60 minute) episodes over the course of a rainy weekend, and, especially after the intense last scene of season 1, we can’t wait to watch what’s next.

Olay Fresh Effects BB Cream – During the summer, and especially during a heat wave, it’s rare to find me with a full face of makeup, but I do like to look my best whenever possible. I’ve tried other BB Creams in the past, and liked them, but this paraben-free tinted lotion from Olay is my current favorite.

To be honest, I didn’t have high expectations when I received a bottle in my summer Voxbox, but the refreshing cucumber scent, cooling sensation, and light, but substantial coverage have all won me over. The addition of a broad spectrum SPF and its hydrating properties have made this lotion my daily go-to for all of July, and beyond.

What are you loving this month? Let me know in the comments below, and happy Midsummer!

Leave a Reply

