Shark Week: Shark Bite Cupcakes

shark week cupcakes Happy Shark Week! I haven’t had cable in about 4 years, but it doesn’t stop me from getting excited for the celebration of these cartilaginous fish each summer.

Last year, in addition to paying my respects to real stars of Shark Week – namely the nurse, sand tiger and lemon sharks at the aquarium – I made these cupcakes in their honor. Since I was visiting my parents in NJ, I had an excellent taste tester and helper on hand – my niece Alexa. As I’m sure you can tell from the pictures, she loved the cupcakes and I think they would be perfect to serve at a viewing party this Shark Week.

I raided my parents kitchen and found a box of Funfetti cake, raspberry jam, canned vanilla frosting and a box of Joy sugar cones. You can use the mechanics of this recipe for any light colored homemade or box cake and red jam of your choice.

Shark Bite Cupcakes

  • Premade cupcakes
  • Raspberry or other red jam
  • Vanilla frosting
  • 1 box of sugar ice cream cones
  • Blue food coloring
  • Green food coloring
  • 1 apple corer

Place cooled cupcakes on a hard surface. Using the apple corer, gently press into the center of the cupcake, stopping about midway. Carefully pull out the corer and remove the “tube” of cake, setting aside. Spoon about a tablespoon of jam into the cupcake and replace the cake sliver.

Frost the top of the cupcakes in a scattered, oceanic pattern. Break the ice cream cones into pieces resembling shark fins, and using dark blue-dyed icing, cover the fin and place on top of the cupcake. Take a big bite into the cake for the best effect, and enjoy!

Step 1:

Shark Week Cupcakes

Step 2:

404011_730397625179_1699053662_n

Step 3:

IMG_2306

IMG_2316

IMG_2308

One thought on “Shark Week: Shark Bite Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Delicious and Jaw Dropping Shark Theme Birthday Cake Recipe | Mybirthdaysupplies Blog

Leave a Reply

