October Favorites

October Favorites
This has been a challenging month for me, to say the least. It’s been my experience that although autumn is my favorite season, there have been more than a few heart wrenching events that have occurred in the last couple of years.
been more than a few heart wrenching events that have occurred in the last couple of years.
Everyone has an opinion on the proper way to grieve or deal with a difficult situation, but for me, how I cope changes on a daily basis. Some days, I want to see old friends and make new memories, while others I prefer quiet time to reflect (and yes, cry).
been more than a few heart wrenching events that have occurred in the last couple of years.
While I can honestly say there has been more darkness than light this month (now, quite literally), I’ve been trying to embrace the light as much as possible and this includes a healthy dose of the retail therapy featured below.
been more than a few heart wrenching events that have occurred in the last couple of years.
  • Ruffian Nail Lacquer – Crowdsourced Collection: These mini nail polish tones were designed by the fashion house, Ruffian, and a group vote from Birchbox (a monthly beauty box subscription service) subscribers – and just they scream fall elegance to me. Fox Hunt (love the name!) is a bright orange that matches the changing autumn leaves. Delirium, is a rich purple hue fit for royalty, and Hedge Fund, is a flattering olive tone with gold shimmer. I’ve experimented with nail art by wearing a combination of all three colors, but they are just as gorgeous wore alone, and their tiny size is great since I normally have trouble finishing large bottles of polish.
  • Make Matt Finish Eye Shadow in Darkness – As soon as the weather turned colder (sometime around the 1st of the month), I’ve had an insatiable desire to wear dark, smokey makeup nearly every time I go out. Let’s just say that I’m not a pro when it comes to using eyeliner, and to get a true smokey look, shadow is necessary. I had a cheap black eye shadow on hand from Elf, but found after only a few hours of wear, my eyes looked red and puffy. I wanted to switch to a natural product (like most of my makeup), so I picked up this matte shadow from a new brand called Make. 33.3% of all sales from this line are donated to the We See Beauty Foundation, and the makeup is oil, paraben, and fragrance-free, hypoallergenic, and cruelty-free (not tested on animals). The color payoff on the shadow is good, and it is very buildable. Blending is really easy, and it has a surprisingly long wear (especially for natural makeup). The shadow is fortified with vitamin c and e, and my eyes feel fresh after a full day of wear.
  • Pim + Larkin Tweed Jacket with Scallop Trim – This was my first foray into the fall essential (especially here in New England) – tweed. This jacket manages to take a sometimes stuffy material and inject a youth vibe with the soft scallop trim (this sea touch is after my heart) and bit of shimmer in the fabric. The black and white silhouette is classic, but also very trendy for this season, and it is reminiscent of Rebecca Minkoff’s fall 2013 collection, but for less than half the price (it’s on sale right now).
  • Honey Crisp Apples – I’ve always been a Macintosh girl. I don’t like the typically sweet apples (Red Delicious? Not so much…), but people have been raving about this varietal, so when they were on sale (they’re usually pretty expensive), I purchased them and they live up to the hype. I don’t recommend baking with them – these apples are meant to shine as an unadorned snack. They have the right combination of smooth sweetness and a dash of tart, and they are irresistibly juicy, never mealy.
  • Kiel James Patrick Royal Egret Bracelet – I’ve mentioned this small New England brand in previous posts, and for good reason – all of their products (mostly bracelets – at least for now) are handcrafted in Rhode Island.  The KJP team only uses high quality materials and the nautical, preppy aesthetic of their pieces makes them timeless. This bracelet (a very belated birthday present from my mom) is, in my opinion, their finest piece thus far. It’s a part of the high end “Quartermaster Collection” that combines a hand knotted leather cord with the KJP signature gold anchor accent. Wearing this bracelet reminds me of warmer days on the Long Island Sound, and dining on fresh oysters on the waterfront in Sono, but I plan on wearing it year-round.
  • Alison Raffaele Reality Base Foundation & True Concealer – Birchbox invited me and 11 other bloggers to a beauty brunch in their NYC offices earlier month. The reason for the meetup was to ask makeup pro, Alison Raffaele (Bobbi Brown’s former assistant), any and every makeup question we could think of. Alison is extremely knowledgeable about all things beauty and called all of us up to her for a personal consultation on finding our perfect shade of foundation and concealer. After she determined that I was a shade 3, she applied the foundation to my face, and also gave me a full size of both products to try at home. As I mentioned above, I love natural makeup products (no scary chemicals for me!) so I was pleased to find out that the formula doesn’t contain oils or parabens, and has an anti-aging, and sun damage healing antioxident complex called Frutta di Vita that’s rich in vitamin C and beta carotene. Both products have a weightless texture with a silky smooth finish. The coverage is about medium and it feels like I have nothing on at all.

How was your October? Let me know what you’re loving this month, below!

been more than a few heart wrenching events that have occurred in the last couple of years.been more than a few heart wrenching events that have occurred in the last couple of years.been more than a few heart wrenching events that have occurred in the last couple of years.
Leave a Reply

