{Vegan} Piña Colada Overnight Oatmeal

overnight oatmeal

Sometimes, no matter how bundled up I am, I can’t seem to shake the winter chill from my bones.

During college, when I lived in an ice box known as Happy Valley, I would imagine myself on a warm, sandy beach on my frigid walks home from class.

I still use this technique when battling the cold, and recently, I’ve also added a tropical element to my breakfast – as another reminder that this winter weather is fleeting.

Making overnight oatmeal is a super easy way to eat a healthy breakfast, but if you’re not into cold oats, you can just prepare them the classic way, or, like I do – heat them up for a few minutes after removing them from the fridge (without having to stand by the stove).

The creamy coconut milk base (this kind, not the one in the can – although you could use that, but beware extra calories!) and juicy pineapple pieces brighten up the oats, and bring me back to the sunny beaches of St. Martin.

Also, if it’s one of those mornings, feel free to add some rum to the mix for a taste of true piña colada. Cheers!

don draper

Piña Colada Overnight Oatmeal

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen pineapple
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 2 tbsp. flax meal (optional)

Mix together coconut milk, vanilla extract, salt, oats, and chia seeds (if using). Cover and refrigerate the mixture overnight. Top with shredded coconut. Heat if desired, and sail away to warm seas.

One thought on “{Vegan} Piña Colada Overnight Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

