Nikki Beach Photoshoot & Champagne Mojito Royal Recipe

allennasseri

Photo by: Allen Nasseri

Despite the extremely cold temperatures we’ve been having lately, I am still on island time from my trip to St. Martin, Saba, and St. Barth last week.

I will post a full recap of my vacation activities soon. For now, enjoy this luxe cocktail recipe  – sure to beat the winter blues – that I enjoyed at Nikki Beach St Barth, and some pictures from a photoshoot I did a few years back at (the now defunct) Nikki Beach Manhattan.

Nikki Beach

The refreshing (and now ubiquitious) mojito is a Cuban cocktail traditionally made with five ingredients: white rum, sugar, lime juice, sparkling water, and mint.

It’s become my go to drink in warm places or when I want to feel like I’m on vacation, so of course I ordered one immediately at the bar in St. Barths.

This time, instead of using club soda, the clever Nikki Beach mixologist used champagne and forever changed my tried and true mojito recipe.

If you make this drink for your friends, I’d love to see a picture on Instagram or Twitter.  Santé!

allenasseri2

Nikki Beach Mojito Royal

  • 10 fresh mint leaves
  • 1/2 lime, cut into 4 wedges
  • 2 tbsp. raw turbinado sugar
  • 1 cup ice cubes
  • 1 1/2 oz. white rum
  • 1/2 cup brut champagne
Place mint leaves and two lime wedges into a highball glass. Using a muddler, gently bruise the mint leaves to extract the flavor. Add remaining lime wedges and sugar, and muddle again until to release the lime juice.
Add remaining lime wedges and sugar, and muddle again until to release the lime juice.
Fill the glass almost to the top with ice. Pour the rum over the ice and stir. Top with champagne, and garnish with a slice of lime and a straw.
allenasseri4
All photos by: Allen Nasseri
Leave a Reply

