Beyoncé + Jay-Z Vegan Challenge Day 1. Pretty Hurts: Heart Two Heart Salad

b028e438c40Welcome to Day 1 of the Beyoncé + Jay-Z  22 Day Vegan Challenge!

Beyonce’s first song on her new album, Pretty Hurts, dives into some very deep issues plaguing young girls (and boys) today: body dysmorphia, eating disorders, and extreme dieting.

While I can’t even begin to touch on the first two issues (that is best left to professionals), crash dieting is something I’d like to address.

Given the nature of this challenge, it may appear (to some) a “diet” of sorts, but I think it goes far beyond that. I’ve chosen to limit animal products from my diet in last couple of years, but was tempted from time to time (cheese you are just SO GOOD) into eating tasty and familiar foods from childhood.

I’d like to say after this challenge I will remain fully vegan (as I mentioned in this post) because eating a plant-based diet has made me feel great inside and out, but whatever I choose, I know that I’m doing my body a service by eating foods that are nutritious, sustainable, and also delicious.

To ease you into our first day, I’m starting off with a fresh salad with (fairly) recognizable ingredients and a light and healthy dressing.

This salad has a lot of heart – hence the name – artichoke hearts, hearts of palm, heart-healthy spinach, and it’s hearty-tasting (even during bitter cold).

The recipe serves two, so share it with someone you love! xoxo

beyonce vegan

Heart Two Heart Salad

  • 1 14-oz. jar artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
  • 1 14-oz. jar hearts of palm, drained and sliced
  • Handful of spinach
  • 8 whole sundried tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 small white onion, sliced
  • 2 tbsp. Orange Muscat Champagne Vinegar (available here)
  • 2 tbsp. walnut oil

Add all ingredients into a medium salad bowl, toss well, and serve. Yields two servings.
beyonce vegan challenge

Today’s Activity: Look in the mirror and pick out one feature you love about yourself. No matter how you’re feeling, I guarantee that you can find one thing you truly love and appreciate because it’s the soul that need the surgery.

Leave a Reply

