Beyoncé + Jay-Z Vegan Challenge Day 4. Drunk in Love: Drunken Noodles

UPDATE: In a crazy last minute whirlwind announcement, I had the amazing opportunity to travel to Los Angeles on Tuesday, but I made one catastrophic mistake – I forgot my laptop.

The good news is I premade a lot of the recipes for the challenge the week before, but, not all of my pictures are uploaded to WordPress just yet.

So, for Day 4, Drunk in Love, I have a photo from a viewing/dinner party I threw last Sunday after making the aforementioned dishes (there was a lot of food!).

When I return to the East Coast next week I’ll be able to use more of the “real” photos I captured, but for now, bear with me while I enjoy my time in the city of angels.

beyonce vegan challenge

Today I present, Drunken Noodles, a hodge podge dish with a mysterious name.

No one is sure where this ubiquitous Thai dish got its name (perhaps because it is eaten late night on the streets of Thailand), but I took a more literal translation and added some liquor.

Snap is an artisan liquor made in Philadelphia inspired by the recipes of our founding fathers. The spicy ginger flavor brightens the dish and gives the noodles some kick if I D’usee so myself.

Drunken Noodles

  • 1 package soba noodles
  • 1 cup of mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 medium white onion, sliced
  • 1 package cherry tomatoes
  • 5 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1 can water chestnuts, drained and rinsed
  • 1 package extra-firm tofu, drained of excess water, cubed
  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 jar Thai basil
  • 2 tbsp. Thai chili paste
  • 1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup  Art in the Age ginger snap liquor, Snap
  • 1 tbsp raw sugar
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds

Boil noodles according to package instructions, drain, and toss with 1 tbsp. sesame oil. Set aside.

In a medium sized bowl, combine 1 tbsp. sesame oil, Thai basil, chili paste, soy sauce, and Snap, and set aside. In a large pan, heat 1 tbsp of oil on med-high heat. Add garlic and onions, and cook until onions become translucent.

Add the mushrooms and cook until tender, stirring occasionally. Add water chestnuts and cherry tomatoes cook for another 2 minutes.

Add the noodles and mix gently until combined. Pour the sauce mixture into the pan, stir, and cover. Turn heat down to low and simmer for 20 minutes.

Add tofu, stir, and continue to simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat, sprinkle with sesame seeds and serve immediately.

beyonce vegan challenge

Today’s Activity:

Go for a night swim at the beach. Bring a surfboard.

Leave a Reply

